New Seven Wonders of the World

In 2001, an initiative was started by the Swiss corporation New7Wonders Foundation to choose the New Seven Wonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments for profit. The results were announced on July 7, 2007, in Benfica’s stadium in a big ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal, and are listed here.

Great Wall of China
New Seven Wonders Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications made of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood, and other materials, generally built along an east-to-west line across the historical northern borders of China to protect the Chinese states and empires against the raids and invasions of the various nomadic groups of the Eurasian Steppe. Several walls were being built as early as the 7th-century bc; these, later joined together and made bigger and stronger, are now collectively referred to as the Great Wall

Machu Picchu
New Seven Wonders Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu is a pre-Columbian Inca site located 8,000-feet above sea level. It is situated on a mountain ridge above the Urubamba Valley in Peru, which is 50 miles northwest of Cuzco and through which the Urubamba River flows. Machu Picchu is one of the most familiar symbols of the Inca Empire.

Taj Mahal
New Seven Wonders Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal is a white marble mausoleum in the city of Agra, India. The Taj Mahal was built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan to honor Mumtaz Mahal, his beloved third wife. She died while bearing their fourteenth child, and Shah Jahan never really recovered from the loss. Construction of the mausoleum was completed around 1648. The Taj Mahal is one of the most unique buildings in the world, combining architectural elements from across the Muslim lands.

Roman Colosseum
New Seven Wonders Roman Colosseum

The Colosseum or Coliseum, originally known as the Flavian Amphitheater, is a giant amphitheater in the center of the city of Rome. Originally capable of seating 45,000 to 50,000 spectators, it was used for gladiatorial contests and public spectacles. It was built on a site just east of the Roman Forum, with construction starting between 70 and 72 C.E. under the emperor Vespasian.

Petra, Jordan
New Seven Wonders Petra Jordan

Petra is an archaeological site in Arabah, Aqaba Governorate, Jordan, lying on the slope of Mount Hor in a basin among the mountains which form the eastern flank of Arabah (Wadi Araba), the large valley running from the Dead Sea to the Gulf of Aqaba. The Nabateans constructed it as their capital city around 100 BCE. It is renowned for its rock-cut architecture.

Chichen Itza
New Seven Wonders Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza was a large pre-Columbian city built by the Maya people of the Terminal Classic period. The archaeological site is located in the municipality of Tinum, in the Mexican state of Yucat√°n. The site exhibits a multitude of architectural styles, reminiscent of styles seen in central Mexico and of the Puuc and Chenes styles of the Northern Maya lowlands.

Christ the Redeemer
New Seven Wonders Christ the Redeemer

Christ the Redeemer is a statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The statue stands 30 meters (98 feet) wide and 38 meters (120 feet) tall with its pedestal. It weighs 635 tons and is located at the peak of the 700 meters (2,300 feet) Corcovado mountain in the Tijuca Forest National Park overlooking the city. It is one of the tallest of its kind in the world. A symbol of Christianity, the statue has become an icon of Rio and Brazil.